Autopilot Brands: Raymarine, Garmin, Simrad, Furuno
Short answer: The main autopilot brands differ in model lines, drive options, and control heads. Raymarine offers Evolution packs for sail and power, Garmin has Reactor and AP lines, Simrad provides NAC and AP systems, and Furuno offers NavPilot with self-learning features. Compare them on stated details like steering type, drive in the box, and control head included. Your boat's steering and existing electronics often decide the best fit.
Why the brand matters when choosing an autopilot
The brand on an autopilot listing tells you which model line you are looking at, what drive options exist, and what control heads are available. It does not tell you which unit fits your boat: that depends on your steering system, boat type, and the parts included in the pack. For an overview of how to choose, see the best marine autopilot guide.
This article compares the major autopilot brands on the details a listing states: model line names, drive types, control heads, and the boat types each line targets. It does not rank brands or claim one holds course better than another. The maker's page and your boat's steering decide the fit.
Raymarine: Evolution packs and tiller pilots
Raymarine's autopilot line includes the Evolution series and the ST1000+ and ST2000+ tiller pilots. The Evolution packs are named by boat type and steering: EV-100 Tiller Autopilot for small sailboats, EV-100 Wheel Pilot for small to medium sailboats, EV-100 Power Pilot for small powerboats with hydraulic steering, and EV-200 and EV-400 variants for larger sail and power boats.
The Raymarine page also lists EV-DBW Pilot for boats with digital drive-by-wire steering and an EV-DBW Volvo Edition for Volvo Penta IPS or Aquamatic propulsion. Drive units include cockpit tiller drives, wheel drives, hydraulic pumps, rotary drives, and linear drives. Control heads like the p70 series are sold separately or in packs.
When reading a Raymarine listing, look for the pack name (EV-100, EV-200, EV-400) and the drive type in the title. The pack name signals the intended boat size and steering, but the maker's page is the source for fit. See the Raymarine autopilot guide for more.
- Evolution packs: EV-100, EV-150, EV-200, EV-300, EV-400, EV-DBW
- Tiller pilots: ST1000+ and ST2000+
- Drive units: cockpit tiller, wheel, hydraulic pumps, rotary, linear
Garmin: Reactor and AP model lines
Garmin autopilots appear on listings under model lines like Reactor 40 and AP. The Reactor 40 line includes packs for hydraulic, linear, and rotary steering, often with a control head in the box. The AP line includes tiller pilots and wheel pilots for sailboats.
Garmin listings often name the drive type in the title, such as 'hydraulic' or 'linear'. The control head may be included or sold separately. The maker's page states which steering systems each pack suits.
When comparing Garmin listings, check whether the pack includes a control head and which drive unit is in the box. The model line name alone does not tell you the fit. The Garmin autopilot guide can help.
Simrad: NAC and AP systems
Simrad autopilots are listed under model lines like NAC and AP. The NAC line includes course computers and packs for hydraulic and linear steering. The AP line includes tiller pilots and wheel pilots for sailboats.
Simrad listings often name the control head, such as AP44 or AP70, and the drive type. The NAC-1, NAC-2, and NAC-3 course computers appear in packs with different drive options.
When reading a Simrad listing, look for the course computer model (NAC-1, NAC-2, NAC-3) and the drive type. The control head may be included or separate. Explore the Simrad autopilot guide for details.
Furuno: NavPilot with self-learning features
Furuno's autopilot line is called NavPilot. The NavPilot 300 and NavPilot 711C are adaptive autopilots with color displays. The NavPilot 300 has a 4.1-inch color LCD and a gesture controller. The NavPilot 711C is a single-DIN size color display.
Furuno also lists packs for specific steering systems: NavPilot 300-HM for Yamaha HelmMaster, NavPilot 300-IPS for Volvo IPS, NavPilot 300-OPT for SeaStar Optimus, and NavPilot 300-YAN for Yanmar VC10/8LV. The NavPilot 711C/OB is for outboards.
Furuno's page describes self-learning and adaptive software that adjusts to vessel speed, trim, draft, tide, wind, and weather. It also lists features like Fantum Feedback, which removes the need for a physical rudder feedback unit on outboard installations, and Sabiki mode for drifting astern.
When reading a Furuno listing, note the model (NavPilot 300, 711C) and any suffix like -OB, -HM, -IPS, -OPT, or -YAN. The suffix names the steering system or engine type the pack is for. Check the Furuno autopilot guide for more.
Comparing brands on stated details
To compare autopilot brands, use the stated details on each listing: model line, drive type, control head included, and boat type. The site's guides compare listings on these details, not on performance claims.
For example, a Raymarine EV-200 Power Pilot pack and a Garmin Reactor 40 hydraulic pack both target powerboats with hydraulic steering, but the control head and drive unit may differ. The maker's page states which drive units and control heads are compatible. Compare complete autopilot packs to see the range.
The NMEA 2000 standard allows marine electronics to share data over a single channel. Autopilots that are NMEA 2000 certified can connect to chartplotters and other instruments. The brand's network name, like SeaTalk or SimNet, appears on listings, but compatibility is a question for the maker's page. See the NMEA 2000 connectivity guide for background.
What the catalogue cannot say about brands
A listing cannot tell you which brand holds course better, which is more reliable, or which is easier to install. Those are not stated details. The site compares listings on what the seller states: model line, drive, control head, and boat type.
The maker's page is the source for fit and compatibility. If a listing does not state a detail, such as the drive type or control head, ask the seller or check the maker's page. For a core pack without a drive, the core pack guide explains what to look for.
The U.S. Coast Guard Boating Safety page reminds boaters to take a boating safety course and keep watch. An autopilot does not replace a lookout. This site makes no safety claims. Learn more about installation skills in general terms.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You have a sailboat with tiller steering | A tiller pilot from Raymarine, Garmin, or Simrad | Best Tiller Pilots for Sailboats in 2026: 6 Picks Compared |
| You have a powerboat with hydraulic steering | A hydraulic pack from Raymarine, Garmin, Simrad, or Furuno | Best Hydraulic Autopilots in 2026: 10 Picks Compared |
| You have a boat with an electronic helm | A steer-by-wire pack from Raymarine or Furuno | Best Steer-by-Wire Autopilot (2026): 6 Picks Compared |
| You have a sailboat with wheel steering | A wheel pilot pack from Raymarine, Garmin, or Simrad | Best Sailboat Autopilots for 2026: 12 Picks Compared |
| You have a powerboat with a kicker motor | A kicker motor autopilot kit | Best Kicker Motor Autopilot (2026): 3 Picks Compared |
| You want to keep your existing drive | A core pack from any brand | Best Autopilot Core Packs 2026: 12 Picks Compared |
Questions
Which autopilot brand is best?
No brand is best for every boat. The right brand depends on your steering system, boat type, and the parts included in the pack. Compare listings on stated details.
Do all autopilot brands work with NMEA 2000?
Many autopilots are NMEA 2000 certified, but compatibility is a question for the maker's page. The NMEA 2000 standard allows devices to share data over a single channel.
What does the model line name tell me?
The model line name, like EV-200 or NavPilot 300, signals the intended boat type and steering system. The maker's page states the fit.
Can I mix brands in an autopilot system?
Mixing brands is a compatibility question. The maker's page states which components work together. A qualified installer can advise.
Recent updates
- : First published.